top of page
  • Writer's pictureLizz

Lock it down (Day 2)

Updated: Jun 10, 2018


Day 2 (5-31-18)


As I awoke for the second day of my trip, I could easily tell that the rest of the crew were feeling about as well as I was. Jet lag had finally set in and my body already felt as if I'd gone two full rounds in a fight with a semi truck. But this was a feeling we all had to muscle through, as another full day of hiking and touring around awaited us. We got an up close look at some of the geothermal vents spewing their heat up into the air, roaring and rumbling like some tribe of great dreaming beasts. We toured the lighthouses on the shores and learned of their history, and the view was fantastic. We got to visit the interconnecting bridge between the American and European continents. As I stood somewhere between the two, gazing over the sea, I turned my thoughts to my boyfriend back home and it gave me a bit of gentle ease to my homesickness, knowing I was somehow closer to him, and yet thousands of miles away. At the end of the day, our guide found the perfect cure for our jet lag. The Blue Lagoon. A massive pool of geothermally heated and fed water forming a large public hot spring. This was the end all be all for our sore muscles and we got to spend several hours of pure bliss soothing our aching muscles in the hot, mineral enriched waters. I couldn't help but smile through the weariness as I swam with my fellow travelers, grumbling inwardly at why they all had to be so attractive, and floated most of my cares in the way in the steaming pools of the Blue Lagoon.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page