top of page
  • Writer's pictureLizz

Farewell (Day 12)


Day 12 (6-10-18)


Today I saw the most adorable semi-feral kitten at the hotel, along with a very beautiful black munchkin cat. I swear I want every cat I see here. (But then again I want every cat I meet, regardless of where I am.) We went to Nordurping today. It was a far more familiar scene than most of the alien features of Iceland. It looks more like home in Arkansas with a mini forest. Man the flies up in the northern parts of the country are no joke… Even more like home.


We saw the last waterfall of the trip. Which apparently is the strongest water fall in Europe. It was beautiful to hear the sound of the rushing waters. Very serene and peaceful and yet thrilling and exciting all in one. We had a mini sing along session of the way back to the hotel. It's amazing to consider how close we've all gotten over the course of this trip. Total strangers brought together by a love for adventure and growing closer because of it.


The hotel allowed us to do a photo shot of two horses in the lupines and down by the Icelandic sea as an ending to our day. Every movement looks like visual poetry. We learned a lot about exposure and light with a moving subject. Hands on learning is by far the best way to learn photography. I have to say this study abroad trip with professor Kim has been very enlightening and helpful in so many ways. I can't wait to use what I've learned in the field back home. I would recommend anyone wanting to learn photography to take it with Kim for study abroad. You will for sure get some hands on learning with the environments.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page