top of page
  • Writer's pictureLizz

Under the Sea (Day 11)

Click on the arrow to start my slide show on the image below.

Day 11 (6-9-18)


The professor and I went whale watching this morning. I had my doubts that we would see anything and that it would be as torturous as the puffin excursion. It was extremely cold out on the Icelandic seas, but I endured the cold for the whales. The whales that I did, in fact get to see!


It was so exciting to see these majestic giants swim in and out of the water around us. I loved it. I truly was moved by these animals.


It's heart breaking to think that commercial whaling still happens in some parts of the world. The fact that anybody could look into the eyes of one of these big guys and want to hurt them is beyond me.


The boat served hot chocolate and, a cinnamon roll on the way back and it was wonderful to feel it warm the depths of my soul while staring back at the beautiful mountains passing as we were sailing through the sea.


After the whales we went to Pingeyjarsveit to photograph another close up waterfall, along with visiting Skutustadahreppur to photograph some plains and the formation of Dimmuborgir.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page